Top Ten Tuesday|May 24th, 2016.

Top10Tuesday

Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)

Just for fun, I thought I would also add:
Characters I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed.

Books:

6449405 12951695
1.) Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee.
I was VERY excited to read this book, but as the story went on, 
I couldn’t believe I was wasting my time with it. I don’t know
what was going on in the author mind, or what she was trying to do
with this story, but I was just left shocked and appalled. You are left
with so many unanswered questions in the end. I was going to give
this book more star…I think I gave it 3 stars then a few days later,
I changed it to 2. Thinking about it now, I kind of want to give 
it 1 star, but I can’t be bothered. :\

2.) Guitar Notes by Mary Amato.
I usually try to stay away from books that involve music,
because most of the time the stories are EXTRA corny. But
after reading the synopsis, I thought it wasn’t going to be too bad.
So I went into it with an open mind, and was actually excited to read
it…Then things made a turn for the worse. #1 It’s written in 3rd person!
I hate reading books in 3rd person! And this book is a great example of
why. I liked it less and less as I was reading it…Even after I was done,
I had to sit back and think about how many stars I was going to
give it. At first I was going to give it a three, but I ended up giving
it 2 stars… :\

20762135 9662548
3.) Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead.
I was never a big fan of the whole Vampire gig, but I ended up
being FORCED to read Vampire Academy by my sister, and I 
FELL IN LOVE!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤  Now, I’m not saying that I’m
going to go on a Vampire Spree, but I did really enjoy
the Vampire Academy Series.

4.) The Duff by Kody Keplinger.
I know I already gave this book 5 stars, but every time I come
across it, or talk about it with someone, I just love it more!
If I was big on rereading books, this book would be a reread,
for sure! 😀

24041454
5.) Drowning Is Inevitable by Shalanda Stanley.
I REALLY enjoyed this book when I first read it, but
now every time I think about it, I feel like I love it even
more! I’m pretty sure that if I reread this book, I will be
giving it 5 stars instead of 4. 🙂

Characters:

Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, #2) 20762135
1.) Darcy Rhone – Something Blue by Emily Giffin.

By the end of Something Borrowed (Book #1) I pretty much
HATED Darcy. She was VERY selfish, and pretty much just a
GIANT bitch! But in Something Blue, Darcy really changed
her ways, a became a better person. I’m proud of her! 😉

2.) Rosemarie Hathaway – Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.
At first sight, I thought Rose was the most immature, annoying
thing EVER! But after reading book after book, she grew up, and
she grew on me. She is now one of my most favorite female leads!

8709527 8709528
3.) Sydney Sage – Bloodlines by Richelle Mead.
I am so sad to say, that my opinion of Sydney has change
for the worse. In the beginning of the Bloodlines Series, 
Sydney was a smart, strong, and practical, but by the end of 
the series, she was nothing more than a love sick, starry eyed, 
knuckle head. I just can’t believe it! She was one of my favorite
strong female characters, now I want nothing to do with her! 😦

4.) Adrian Ivashkov – The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead.
My feeling for Adrian went form loathing, to loving, then back
to loathing! I knew he was annoying, but I kind of fell for him by 
the end of the Vampire Academy series, but then as soon as Rose
“broke his heart,” he started acting like a pitiful bitch! And it just
got worse as the Bloodlines series went on. By the end, I was DONE!
Adrian no longer exists to me! Harsh? Maybe, the truth? YES!

15390575
5.) Macon Faulkner – Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen.
I ended up watching the movie WAY before I read the book.
I know that MOST of the time, books are WAY different than
the movies, but I still was shocked at how much I ended up 
HATING Macon after reading the book! I fell for him after seeing
the movie. He was sweet, and cute…But after reading the book, I 
found out he was actually really a piece of shit! I’ll never look at
him the same way!! 😡

giovannard2016Purple
*Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme
hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday|May 24th, 2016.

  1. I’ve always wanted to read something by Emily Giffin, but I’ve never gotten around to it… any recommendations on where to start?

    1. The only books I’ve been interesting in reading by Emily Giffin is Something Borrowed, and Something Blue…AND I LOVED THEM!! So you should read those two books first! 😀 Have you watched the movie Something Borrowed?

      1. Thanks for the recs! No, I haven’t seen Something Borrowed, but I really should… is that the one with John Krasinski? (AKA the lost love of my life <3)

  2. I’ve only read the first Vampire Academy book but I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. Also I’ve never read The Duff but I loved the movie. Of course, I have no idea if they are at all similar… Great list!

  3. I like how you talked about your changing views on different characters. I love it when characters grow in a series, and hate it when the author has them do things out of character that make us stop loving them! Vampire Academy is also a series that grew on me. I hardly liked the first book, but found the last few had a lot more depth.

  4. I am glad you included changing views on characters. I think I could have come up with a list like that more easily–but then again, maybe not. For me it would be Emma from Jane Austen’s novel with the same title. I wasn’t too keen on her after I read the novel, but the more I thought about it, the more I like her. I haven’t read any of the books you mention, although I am familiar with some of them. Your comment about hating a character in a book but liking him in the movie/TV show has happened to me as well!

  5. Great list! I’m obsessed with the Vampire Academy series, and I try to get people to read it all the time but they are scarred by the horrendous movie. Rose is my favorite heroine of all time. I didn’t finish Bloodlines, but I still love Adrian. When I think of him,I kinda prefer to forget the Bloodlines version of him. I’ve read a few of Keplinger’s books, but I’ve never read The Duff, though I did really enjoy the movie. I need to read it!

  6. I still have to read The Vampire Academy, and it has been sitting on my Kindle for a few years now, eeks! I’m so happy to hear that Rose grew on you as much as she did. Fabulous list!

  7. I really need to read The Duff. I quite enjoyed the movie!

    I actually haven’t finished Bloodlines, but I’m really sad to see your opinions of Sydney and Adrian were lowered as the series went on. I might avoid finishing it now to save myself the disappointment!

    Shaunna @ Books Over Bros

  8. Artichoke’s Heart definitely could have been included on my list as well. It has a sweet message at its core but too much fluff instead of real substance to do justice to its premise. Great compilation!

    1. Lol Artichoke’s Heart was a total mess! I didn’t even know what the message was because there was so much BS is going on. What exactly was the sweet message you speak of?

  9. I hated Artichoke’s heart. The cover was super cute and the synopsis sounded so good but the story was literally the opposite of the synopsis. I gave the book a straight up 1 star on my GR! You already know how much I love Rose and Darcy (I have commented enough lol) and I completely agree with Sydney and Adrian. I had such high hopes for them, even as a couple and they just let me down. To co-dependant and too obsessed with each other and Adrian broke my heart by turning into an even bigger loser. I was so upset with the way he spoke with Rose in Last Sacrifice, especially because his crazy ass truly believed what he was saying. I also felt the same way about Macon. I have been reading Sarah Dessen for years and usually the guys she writes are amazing (except for Rogerson’s bitch ass) and I was dissapointed that Macon turned out to be a loser. But I was really happy with the end. Great post!

    1. Hahaha Thank! Rogerson is a big bitch! I think I gave Artichoke’s heart 2 stars, but the more I think about it, I think it I should go back and give it one…Even though it deserves NO STARS! I wonder if Aunt Mary ever got her angry ass a boyfriend….

  10. I need to get around to reading The DUFF, because I’ve heard such brilliant things about it! I hadn’t heard of Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen before, though; gonna go check that one out now. Great twist on the list 🙂

  11. I LOVE the DUFF, I love how though it seems from the outside like a really shallow concept, the book is actually much deeper than that. You’re breaking my heart with the Sydney and Adrian stuff because I am with them until the end! I totally agree with you on Rose though, she really grew on me as the series went on 🙂

  12. Oooh, I like how you broke the TTT down into both books and characters. I should’ve done something like that!

    I read Vampire Academy when it was getting a lot of hype, before it was even mentioned that it would become a movie. I was… less than impressed. I just couldn’t get swept up into it. At least I gave it a try. I’m glad they worked out for you, though! It’s nice to find that series that you absolutely adore. =)

    You’ve got an awesome blog! I’ve followed via BL. ^-^

    Brittany @ Space Between the Spines

Leave a comment