The Friday 56|#16 You Were Here.

TF562016

25679559

The Book: You Were Here by Cori McCarthy.

Synopsis: Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn’t: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother’s death the only way she can- by re-creating Jake’s daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She’s not crazy,okay? She just doesn’t have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn’t expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she’s joined by a group of unlikely friends- all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend; the heartbroken poet; the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome; and…Mik. He doesn’t talk, but somehow still challenges Jaycee to do the unthinkable-reveal parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

The Rules:

  1. Grab a book, any book.
  2. Turn to page 56 or 56% in you E-Reader. (If you have to improvise, that’s okay.)
  3. Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
  4. Post it.
  5. Add your URL post below in the Linky. (Add the post URL, not your blog URL.)

 

The 56:

I laughed harder, and Mik scooted next to me. Hip to hip. I had half a mind to open the car door, duck, and roll, but he took my arm. I calmed enough to let him unwrap the bandage. He rotated my hand, watched me wince, and then held the back of my wrist to his cheek like he was checking the temperature. He wrapped it back up and kept my fingers cradled in his. We weren’t holding hands. We were somewhere in that gray area, touching but not touching.

giovannard2016
*The Friday 56 is a Weekly Meme hosted by Freda’s Voice.

11 thoughts on “The Friday 56|#16 You Were Here.

  1. I think I would end up angry at the book. A girl trying something that killed her brother would make me think she has no respect for her life and is just trying to hurt those around her which is unfair. Happy Friday!

    1. That’s very true! But we also have to maybe think that she thinks that brings her closer to her brother. I know that sounds crazy, but I’ve heard of people dealing in this kind of way. 😐

  2. Jaycee sounds like a complicated character. I hope she realizes how stupid she is to recreate her brother’s stunts, and I’m wondering where her parents are while she’s doing this. I’m not sure if I’d enjoy this book or if it would aggravate me!
    My Friday post features THE LOCKET.

Leave a comment