Top Ten Tuesday|April 26th, 2016.

Top10Tuesday

Top Ten Eight Bookworm Delights:

1.) When a book FINALLY comes out in paperback. I am not a big fan of hardcover books. I don’t usually buy them for myself unless they are cheap. It sucks that it takes a year or so after the hardback, for the paperback to be released in the US. Thank God I found Book Depository. Most of they time, they have the paperback before the US gets them. The only downside to that, is half of the time, the book is smaller than the US version…Oh well, at least it’s paperback! 🙂

2.) When the book title is referenced in  the book. I don’t know what it is, but it’s exciting, when I find the meaning behind the book title in the book it’s self. Thankfully more times than not, there’s actually a beautiful/interesting story behind the title.

3.) When Half Price Books send out 50% off Coupons. I love cheap books, and I love them even more, when they are 50% off! It’s been a while since I received one, but when I do, I won’t hesitate to go straight to the book store and spend spend spend!!!

4.) When a book is just as good as I expect. It doesn’t happen a lot, but when it does, it feels great! 🙂 The last book that was just as great as I thought it was going to be, was Weird Girl and What’s His Name by Meagan Brothers. I just knew it from the day I first saw it, that I was going to LOVE It! I can’t wait for that to happen again! 🙂

5.) When people like a book just as much as you do. It’s always great when someone loves the book you loved.

6.) When a book exceeds my expectations. I love when I have low expectations for a book, and it rocks my world. An example is the Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead. I didn’t have high hopes…I didn’t even think I would ever read it, but I did, and I LOVED it!
Too bad I can’t say the same for the Bloodlines Series. I hated it…

7.) Reading on Rainy Days. To me, everything is better on a rainy day.

8.) Getting approved for ARCs on Net Galley. Especially when you are dying to read the book. It’s hard to get an ARC of a book you really want to read. You usually get passed up, and have to settle for books that are kind of interesting, and most of the time end up being a dud. So, it’s VERY exciting when you FINALLY get a book you actually wanted in the first place.

That’s it for this week.
What are some of your top bookworm delights?

giovannard2016Purple
*Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme
hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

56 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday|April 26th, 2016.

  1. Great post and I can relate to all of these delights. I hadn’t though about the second delight about the title being mentioned in the book but yeah that is usually exciting. Especially when the references just fits in perfects and it ends up being an aha moment 🙂 I love your GIFs and especially the CM Punk one.

  2. Oooo, Reading in Rainy Days – love this one. Most people seem to prefer the sun, don’t know why 😉 But I’m a rainy-day person too, there is *nothing* better than watching it fall from my window as I sit with a book and tea 🙂 Great post!

      1. I know, it is such a cliche, but I like rainy days better than sunny ones, and I rarely get them in Arizona, so when there is rainy day, it’s a treat! 😉

  3. Coupons!! They’re like heaven sent things to us bookworms. We can save money/we can buy more books since we get a percent off. Good stuff~ I’m with you on the paperbacks. Though I don’t mind hardcovers but paperbacks are cheaper and the price matters to me when it comes to book buying… no matter how much I want the book asap. LOVE your list! ❤ And the gifs are just on-point 😀 – Here’s my TTT

  4. Great list! #1 – For reading I definitely prefer paperbacks but hardbacks are so, so pretty in my opinion – their designs are usually tactile as well so it’s not just plain paper, if that makes sense. 😛

    And #6 is just gold. Maybe the key is to go in with low expectations, then (most) every book will exceed them!

    Here’s my list. 🙂

  5. Great list! Fun gifs. Getting approved for books on NetGalley…yes! I haven’t had a huge book approval yet, but I’ve been enjoying the ones I’ve been reading. I also love when books meet or exceed my expectations. And nothing is better than talking to someone else who loves the same books. I also love being asked for recommendations. 🙂

  6. Reading on rainy days is so much fun. It’s nice to feel all warm and cozy while reading. Plus, you don’t want to be outside anyway, so you’re not missing out on nice weather. Great list!

  7. I LIVE FOR WHEN A BOOK TITLE IS REFERENCED IN THE BOOK i dont know why it seems so magical and outlandish but it is and i love it

  8. Yes, great list! It’s always great to read, but reading on a rainy day is just that bit more special and cosy 🙂 And YES to booktitles being referenced in the book, I always love that part!

  9. Great list! It’s so annoying that books don’t come out in paperback until a year after release. I want the option! Also, I love when book titles are referenced in books! It’s almost like that big aha moment!

    My TTT 🙂

  10. Yes, there’s a special kind of pleasure when you get approved for a book on NetGalley. It definitely warrants a small celebration. Book Depository is a great way to get those books in paperback that are just released. Maybe US publishers should take a hint and do the same as the UK.

  11. Yes on every one of these delights!!! I always become a little scared when a publisher takes a long time to approve a book on NetGalley, so it really is a thrill to get approved.

  12. Numbers 1-6 on this list!? DITTO! Such a great collection of book worm delights; I particularly like it when a book meets or surpasses expectations. That’s the best. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland, Giovanna. Appreciate that. 🙂

  13. Yes to all of these!! Especially when a book actually meets expectations. I wish I had thought of putting that one on my list. That is a good one. There are so many that don’t live up to expectations/hype so when one does it’s a FANTASTIC feeling!

  14. I also love when the book title is referenced in the book. It always makes me so happy when I make the connection. I haven’t attempted to request anything on Net Galley yet but I received my first ARC a couple weeks ago and I was so excited.

  15. I can’t believe I didn’t think of books being referenced in books – it always makes me do a happy dance, particularly when it’s very subtly done and I’m reading the sentence and I have to pause for a sec to think, “…WAIT!”.

  16. I LOVE when a book exceeds my expectations 😀 It’s only the best feeling ever! And nothing beats staying in a reading on a rainy day ♥ Oh and when the title of the book gets referenced in the book? *happy dance* Awesome picks here^^ thanks for stopping by earlier too! xx

  17. So true about seeing the book title turn up! It makes me smile when I spot it, and it’s so cool figuring why it’s the book’s title.

  18. I loved this TTT!
    I hate when the paperback takes way too long to come out! I’m having that problem with the raven cycle. I already have the first book the us paperback and I really want to get the whole series in matching editions.

    I LOVE IT when a book excedes my expectations, there’s no better feeling than that :’D

  19. Hiya! Great list. I don’t know why but here in the UK books seem to come out so much later than everywhere else and by that point they only release a paperback version – not sure if this is a good thing or not – but I would prefer the choice. I love a good hardback for my shelves but I prefer to read a paperback… I’m odd, I know.

    OMG I’m currently reading Jennifer Estep’s Black Blade series and she keeps referring to the title. I squeal every-time lol. I do love it when the title’s included.

    Have you tried getting a twitter account? I found signing up and posting on twitter increased the number of well-known books I was approved for on Netgalley. Just a thought, it may help.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ paein-and-ms4tune

Leave a comment