Music Monday|June 20th, 2016|Book References.

MusicMondayMarikaHackman

I was thinking love a hard about what this week’s Music Monday should be about,
and I thought…Well since this is a book blog, why not choose songs that reference/are
based on books!? When doing this search, I found out that a lot of songs are based
on or reference books/poems in them. Some I would have NEVER guessed!
Anyway, here are two songs  about books/poems:

Time To Dance – Panic! At The Disco.

This song is based off of one of my favorite books by Chuck Palahniuk, called Invisible Monsters!! When I first heard this song, I had no idea about Invisible Monsters. Then years later, I read and LOVED Invisible Monsters, and one day while listening to Panic! At The Disco, I heard the lyrics:

Well, she’s not bleeding on the ballroom floor
Just for the attention
‘Cause that’s just ridiculously odd
Well, she sure is going to get it
Here’s the setting
Fashion magazines line the walls now
The walls line the bullet holes
Have some composure
And where is your posture?
Oh, no, no
You’re pulling the trigger
Pulling the trigger
All wrong
Have some composure
And where is your posture?
Oh, no, no
You’re pulling the trigger
Pulling the trigger
All wrong
Give me envy, give me malice, give me your attention
Give me envy, give me malice, baby, give me a break!
When I say shotgun, you say wedding
Shotgun, wedding, shotgun, wedding
She didn’t choose this role
But she’ll play it and make it sincere
So you cry, you cry
(Give me a break)
But they believe it from the tears
And the teeth right down to the blood at her feet
Boys will be boys
Hiding in estrogen and wearing aubergine dreams
(Give me a break)
Have some composure
And where is your posture?
Oh, no, no
You’re pulling the trigger
Pulling the trigger
All wrong
Have some composure
And where is your posture?
Oh, no, no
You’re pulling the trigger
Pulling the trigger
All wrong
Come on this is screaming photo op, op
Come on
Come on
This is screaming
This is screaming
This is screaming photo op.
Boys will be boys, baby
Boys will be boys
Boys will be boys, baby
Boys will be boys
Give me envy, give me malice, give me your attention
Give me envy, give me malice, baby, give me a break
When I say shotgun, you say wedding
Shotgun, wedding, shotgun, wedding
Boys will be boys
Hiding in estrogen and boys will be boys
Boys will be boys
Hiding in estrogen and wearing aubergine dreams

Then I thought…This all sounds so familiar…I think I’ve heard this before! So after doing a little Google Search about the song, I find out that it is based off of INVISIBLE MONSTERS!! That’s pretty cool! 🙂

Before I Sleep – Marika Hackman.

Last week I discovered that on Spotify, some albums also have commentary, where the artist talks about each songs on their album, and I have come to find out that Before I Sleep, was inspired by a poem by Robert Frost called: Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening.

The song was inspired by this stanza:

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

This is one of my favorite songs to listen to during down time…Resting of any kind.
It’s just so dark and dreary and sleepy. I LOVE IT!

That’s all for this week’s Music Monday!
What are some of your favorite songs based on books?
Let me know down in the comments! 😀

giovannard2016Purple
*Music Monday is a weekly meme created
by Lauren over at Always Me.

6 thoughts on “Music Monday|June 20th, 2016|Book References.

Leave a Reply

