I Messed Up Tag.

IMessedUp

Big Thanks to Jonas @ Other Things, for tagging me to do the I Messed Up Tag! I’ve seen it going around for a little while now, and I was thinking about doing it, so it’s nice to actually be tagged to do it! 😀

A CHARACTER’S APPEARANCE THAT YOU MISREAD OR IMAGINED DIFFERENTLY
I can’t think of any…How would you  know if you were wrong anyway? Most of the time when a book is turned into a movie, the person they cast as the main character looks nothing like the description from the book. So how would you know you were wrong? 

A CHARACTER NAME THAT YOU’VE BEEN PRONOUNCING WRONG
No one I can think of. Most of the people I read about have plain/easy to read names like Sydney or Rachel. Well… Now that I think about it, one character that I was kind of like, now how do you say that? and it was Halley from Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen. Is it HEY-lee or HAL-lee? At first when she said it was like Halley’s Comet, I was still like wait what? People say it two ways. Some people say HAL-lee’s Comet, while others say HEY-lee’s Comet. Thankfully she explains it in the book, and it’s pronounced HAL-lee.

AN OVERUSED TROPE THAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE
Girl needs boy to save her. I’m sorry but no! You don’t need a man to save you. You can save yourself!

A CLICHÉ CHARACTER TYPE THAT YOU LIKE BETTER ON SCREEN THAN READING ABOUT
The Brooding Male Character. I always feel a little uneasy when reading about them. They just seem SO LAME and EXTRA! I find them to be VERY embarrassing in books, but I usually love them on screen…Well, that is if they get the right guy to pay the Brooding Character…Then I’m all in! 😉

A WORD/PHRASE YOU LEARNED BECAUSE OF ITS USE IN A BOOK
A phrase I learned from How Many Letters Are In Goodbye? by Yvonne Cassidy, and hope to NEVER see/hear again, is the saying that someone/something is “fifty kinds of crazy.” It was said about a THOUSAND times in this book, and I thought I was going to go CRAZY if I heard it one more time! I hope to never hear and or see that phrase again!!!

HAVE YOU EVER NOT READ OR COMPLETED A REQUIRED READING BOOK FOR SCHOOL?
Yes, For some idiotic reason, we had to read the Bible for my honors English class during the summer, but I didn’t do it. The whole year I was sweating bullets, thinking we were going to be asked about it, but we really didn’t do anything with it, so I got LUCKY!!

HAVE YOU EVER (OR WANTED TO) SKIPPED A CHAPTER FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF A CHARACTER YOU WEREN’T INTERESTED IN?
Yes, I have wanted to, but No, I haven’t. I think the last time I wanted to was when I was reading the Bloodlines Series by Richelle Mead. I couldn’t stand Adrian at some point, so I just wanted to skip all of his chapters…Why she started going back and forth from Sydney to Adrian, is beyond me, but she did it, and I just had to take it. Even though I wanted to skip his chapters BADLY, I didn’t let myself skip! 😦

HAVE YOU EVER CANCELLED SOCIAL PLANS TO READ A BOOK?
No, I don’t think I have. I’m a homebody, and I rarely like being social (hah!) so usually when it’s time to go out and do something other than reading, it’s my choice to do so.

That was fun! 🙂 Thanks again to Jonas for the tag! If you aren’t already,
go ahead and give him a follow! 😀

giovannard2016Purple

5 thoughts on “I Messed Up Tag.

  1. LOL the first question kind of doesn’t make any sense? XD For character names in books, I tend to mispronounce and get confused with a lot of names in fantasy novels? Is it just me or do fantasy novels always over complicate the names… Great tag, loved reading your answers!

    1. Thanks! I know! I don’t like questions like that, cause there’s no way unless the author tells you that you are wrong, to know that you are actually wrong… Also, why can’t they just have regular names, or at least names that already exist?

  2. I’ve cancelled a LOT of social plans to read books, that includes school lol

    I mispronounce Feyre’s name from A Court of Thorns and Roses so you could imagine my amusement when the author added a character with their right pronounciations. Hahahaha

Leave a Reply

