You Were Here.

25679559Book: You Were Here.

Written By: Cori McCarthy.

Pages: 400.

Category: Teen & YA.

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire.

Release Date: March 1st 2016.

Synopsis: Jaycee is dealing with her brother’s death the only way she can- by re-creating Jake’s daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She’s not crazy,okay? She just doesn’t have a whole lot of respect for staying alive. Jaycee doesn’t expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she’s joined by a group of unlikely friends- all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend; the heartbroken poet; the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome; and…Mik. He doesn’t talk, but somehow still challenges Jaycee to do the unthinkable-reveal parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

My Thoughts: This book wasn’t at all what I was expecting. I didn’t shed a single tear! From the synopsis I was think that it was going to be a total heartbreaker, but it wasn’t. I’m kind of disappointed! Don’t get me wrong, it was still a great book, but there were some things that made it impossible for me to give it 5 stars.

At times the book seemed to go on FOREVER! I know I’ve said this about a BILLION times before, but I hate books with multiple points of view, and for some reason, most of the NetGalley ARCs I’ve reviewed, have been in multiple points of view. Thank God, this wasn’t as big of a problem as I thought it would be. I loved reading everyone else’s story. As I really got into the book, I felt like I was watching a juicy Soap Opera. That being said, I also felt like the main story was getting washed out by all of the other background noise. Yeah, it was nice to hear about everyone else’s problems, but Jaycee’s attempt to recreate her brother’s stunts, wasn’t really there…I mean, how many stunts did she actually recreate? One…Two? At least that’s how many I can remember anyway. At a certain point it felt like instead of helping her get through her problems, it turned into a ‘Let’s help Jaycee get her man’ story.

It seemed like everyone’s, except for Zach and Jaycee’s, home life was a little bland, but then again, there was nothing that interesting going on at home for Jaycee either. At first her parents were a big part of the story, but then all of the sudden they dropped off the face of the earth. There were a lot of things mentioned, that could have been bigger in the story, but then the author got bored, or just forgot about them. For example, Jaycee’s mom. What happened to her!? Where she at? Another thing I thought was kind of off, was that fact that one minute her dad was constantly worrying about her, but then out of nowhere, his concern wasn’t present. One minute he was telling her to text him every hour, and then when something big happens, and she clearly isn’t worried about contacting her dad, he wasn’t burning her phone up demanding to know where she was…

Most if not all of the characters were just okay. Nothing special. Jaycee was crazy(as expected), Natalie was a boring know it all, Zach was your run of the mill, I’m gonna get drunk and party/I don’t know what I’m gonna do with my life 18 year old man-child. Mik was a bit on the creepy side, and Bishop was just there, with his cliche, sappy, faux intellectual “I’m going through it” artwork. I can’t believe I am saying this but, surprisingly the most spineless, problematic character ended up being my favorite. No, it’s not that hot mess Jaycee, I’m talking about the closeted mental basket, Zach. I am shocked and appalled, that I would choose such an immature ignoramus as my favorite character, but he is the one character who didn’t get on my nerves all that much. I was always ready and willing to hear his story.

All in all, this was a good read that kept me interested (most of the time). I really liked how Mike’s point of view was told in the form of a comic book. That was a great idea, very creative! I gave You Were Here, 4 Stars.
4Stars

giovannaNetG

 

3 thoughts on “You Were Here.

Leave a Reply

