Isla and the Happily Ever After Review.

Book: Isla and the Happily Ever After.

Written By: Stephanie Perkins.

Pages: 375.

Synopsis: Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoon worthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

My Thoughts: Isla and the Happily Ever After is a great wrap up to the Stephanie Perkins Companion Novels Trilogy. I really enjoyed reading it! It feels like it took me FOREVER to get my hand on it, then a MILLION more years to actually read it. I think I had it sitting on my shelf for about 3 months before I picked it up. Bad, I know.

I really liked how in this story, Isla and Josh already liked each other, and we didn’t have to wait for what seems like FOREVER for them to get together. Although when they did get together, Isla changed and seemed to become one of those jealous insecure girlfriends. That was annoying! At some points I did think she was right to feel the way she did, but other times I think she was going overboard. Like with the whole “I’m just a placeholder” gig. Girl come on! Now that I think about it, they didn’t seem to be together for long in the book. It’s like they spent most of the time broken up. I thought I would explode while waiting for them to FINALLY get back together.

I thought Josh was going to be the Cliche bad boy son of a Politician. Thank God he wasn’t. That would have gotten old pretty quick! I did find it annoying that he wouldn’t open up more to Isla. I think that if he had told her about then whole “Not having a girlfriend” act, she wouldn’t have been so crazy. I also think they were moving too fast. I felt like he wanted more too quickly, and she wasn’t ready for it. They weren’t even going out for a year when he was talking about her going to college near him so they could be together. I just wanted to scream SLOW DOWN!

My favorite character would have to be Kurt. He was such a sweetie.  I loved how he was so different from the usual YA best friend character. He was refreshing. Kurt has high functioning Autism, so he basically has no filter. He is straight forward, and tells it like he sees it. I was so happy when he told Isla about herself. How could she be so blind to the fact that she treated him just the way she felt Josh was treating her. It made me mad because Kurt is there for her no matter what. Just because you suddenly have a boyfriend doesn’t mean all the years of your friendship disappears! I feel like as soon as she got with Josh, Kurt took the backseat. Thank God he found some friends that were more like him so he wasn’t by himself. I would have hated Isla if he was a loner while she was out gallivanting with her new beau.

Oh and another thing, the whole Barcelona fiasco could have been avoided if Isla would have let her sister Hattie in on it. Why out of EVERYONE in the world would you chose Kurt to keep a secret. You know that boy can’t lie! She should have told her sister. I know they don’t really get along but Hattie seemed like the type of person that would have kept it a secret.You would have owned her BIG time but everything would have probably worked out in the end.

Overall, I really did enjoy it! If I were going to put the 3 books in order from my most favorite to my least favorite, (I love them all, but) it would be Lola, Isla, and then Anna. I gave Isla and the Happily Ever After, 4 Stars!

4Stars

_giovanna

2 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After Review.

Leave a Reply

